The Album

More Than Numbers is an album of 14 songs, based on the poetry fromThe Mathematics Book. It is a collaboration between The Compartment Arts and Zenolith. The music is composed and performed by Nic Courto and Craig M Wood. The lyrics are written by Maurice Murphy and Helen Prochazka with additional lyrics by Adrian Jacobson. The song styles range from jazz to semi-operatic to pop. Song 10 was a contender for Australia’s 2016 Eurovision and the album has been played live at the Festival of Voices.

The aims and philosophy for the song cycle are detailed in a Bridges Seoul conference paper that you can read here

Video clips of some of the songs can be viewed on YouTube.


Craig M Wood is a Tasmanian performer, composer and musical director, and has worked with most major Tasmanian theatre organisations. He has travelled Australia, mentoring teenagers on writing their own operas. His own brand of composition lands in uncharted territory, taking many different styles and forms and sifting them through his own dramatic or humorous aesthetic. Craig creates powerful, emotionally-charged songs and theatrical works which have been performed nationally. He is also a professional music typesetter and the artistic director of The Compartment Arts.

Nic Courto is a jack of all musical trades. He studied contemporary voice at the UTAS Conservatorium and has played classical and contemporary piano since his parents decided the key bashing he loved so much needed a little extra sophistication. He also plays clarinet, sax and guitar, sings in amateur musical theatre and opera, and is a member of the Australian Army Reserve band. When he’s not making music, Nic enjoys reading and creative writing, or you might find him on the green of one of Hobart’s lawn bowling clubs. He teaches piano and voice at The Compartment Arts.

The Songs

01 Whole numbers
02 Fractions
03 Decimals
04 Geometry
05 Negative numbers
06 Algebra
07 Powers & Roots
08 Measurement
09 Percentages & Ratios
10 Areas & Volumes
11 Equations
12 Pythagoras & Trigonometry
13 Graphs & Relationships
14 Chance & Data

The song lyrics can be found here.


The special edition CD can be purchased at music stores and bookshops including Fullers Bookshop (Hobart), Petrarch’s Bookshop (Launceston), and Readings (Melbourne). Please contact us if you need further information.

The album is available on iTunes

Publisher:  Zenolith
Producer:  The Compartment Arts  
Format:  Hardback custom pack
Distributor:  MGM Distribution  
Copyright:  2016 Zenolith
EAN:  09696230027
RRP:  $24.95

It looks and sounds interesting, curious, helpful and crazy!

Mark Bolton